Complete Newby

saturnowner

So what do I NEED to know?

I've just bought a 4 or 5 berth Lunar Saturn which I have been led to believe is from the early 90's. I've never owned or even set foot in a caravan before today, and know absolutely nothing about them. I'll be moving to Somerset in May and will be living in it until I can find a permanent solution (ideally a static on a residential site)

Things I can think of that I NEED to know is stuff like how does the electric hookup work do I need to switch anything over, will it charge the battery in the van. or will I need to get a battery charger?

Do sites have an age limit on caravans? Will I need a safety certificate, or inspection report and if so where will I get one from? etc etc As I stated above I know absolutely nothing about caravanning at all. .

So what do I NEED to know?

I've just bought a 4 or 5 berth Lunar Saturn which I have been led to believe is from the early 90's. I've never owned or even set foot in a caravan before today, and know absolutely nothing about them. I'll be moving to Somerset in May and will be living in it until I can find a permanent solution (ideally a static on a residential site)

Things I can think of that I NEED to know is stuff like how does the electric hookup work do I need to switch anything over, will it charge the battery in the van. or will I need to get a battery charger?

Do sites have an age limit on caravans? Will I need a safety certificate, or inspection report and if so where will I get one from? etc etc As I stated above I know absolutely nothing about caravanning at all. .

Hello and welcome. We are equally new to caravanning, in fact our first outing is in 2 weeks time! Although we have camped and owned a folding camper for many years, caravanning is a whole new ball game.

You will get plenty of advice in these forums, I can assure you. I actually bought a book just before we bought our caravan in October: