Winterhoff Ws3000

Hi to you all,

Do any of you have one of these fitted to your van? I purchased one last july and i have had nothing but niggles up to now. It feels very unstable above 50mph as if unable to hold. I have been towing for 7 yrs and changed to a jupiter last yr. Up to now we have changed the way we load it and altered the nose weight to see if that makes any difference but to no avail. Our last van had a snakemaster as assistance and i am on the verge of fitting that as well. But surely that would be a rediculous move? Any feed back would be gratefully appreciated as the other half is pressuring me to take it off :angry: and go back to a std pressed coupling and S/master. many thanks steve.

Guest john1215

Steve,

I don't have a winterhoff but an Alko AKS 1300, I expereinced a similar effect ot the one you are describing only when I had forgotten to apply the hitch correctly and push down the clamping arm applying the friction pads to the ball. I wonder if this is the case with your hitch. Also did you remove all traces of grease from your towball before hitching with the winterhoff.

Apologies if this is like egg-sucking time, but often the simplest of things get forgotten.

john1215

Guest macSpot

We had similar problems with an ALKO AKS hitch on a previous van. As we had replaced the tow ball we knew it wasn't grease, however when our dealer inspected the hitch he found the friction pads had been contaminated with grease. He reckoned it may have happened at the factory and they were replace under the warranty, after which it towed perfectly.

I have also been told that on these types of hitch the correct noseweight is important.

Hope this helps.

MacSpot