Charging caravan from house

Hi guys newbie here just needing a bit of help.  I’ve connected my caravan upto my house, should I leave the power supply switch on or off? And will this charge the battery ?  Thank you 

Hi Dominic. I'm going to assume that you have a reasonably new caravan with pretty standard wiring. The power will be stopped by the mains switch in the caravan and nothing will get past it so if you want to warm the van up a bit with the heater or charge the battery you need to turn it ON. Check the cable is in good condition and make sure it isn't a trip hazard to the postie. Also remember to turn it on at the socket you connect to in house or garage, of course! Caravans can take slightly more current (16A) than a 3 pin socket can provide (13A) so make sure the connecting wire is fully uncoiled, and if you do turn the heating on never turn it on full power (3kW) as you risk tripping the RCD in your home.

Enjoy every minute of every day. It doesn't last nearly as long as you'd like, and there's no guarantee of coming this way again.

Just plug it in and the battery charger will work automatically. 

The power supply switch just turns the supply from the battery on, so you don't flatten the battery by accidently leaving something switched on.

I've got nothing to do on this hot afternoon

but to settle down and write you a line.

Posted (edited)

If left connected to the mains your caravan battery should get charged up (if the charger is working) 

As for leaving it switched on all the time that’s probably not a good idea. At the age your caravan is (1999) it might have a charger that just pushes out a set voltage and that can cook your battery over time

Edited by Mr Plodd

Experience is something you acquire after you have an urgent need for it.

Thanks guys really appreciate the help, my first time owning one so a lot to take in! So if I leave it charging all night by “theory” I should be able to run it on just the battery tomorrow ?