Siting a touring caravan on a seasonal pitch. (We don't drive)

Jerseygirl

We really want to buy a caravan to get away for weekends and longer. We are pensioners and don't drive. The dealership we would use say they can deliver it to where we want,and we would like a seasonal pitch in Northumberland,but to be honest seem very expensive,are we mad to try and do this. I have been quoted up to £4000,is this the normal price. We are novices,any advice please! Thank you.

:welcome:Jerseygirl Firstly are you thinking of a static or a touring caravan, whichever one it is you will find it very expensive starting out as you have to buy all the basics as well as the van, then there are things like insurance, storage or site fees. What is the £4000 actually for , what does it include?

Happy Days

JG, are you saying that you have been quoted £4,000 a year for a pitch. 

I have no experience of such deals, but checking the C&CC Seasonal pitch offers they seem to vary between £1200 and £2700 and the seasons vary in length, but are mostly 7 months. On that basis an average is about £350 a month. Extrapolating that to a full 12 months gets a figure of £4,200, so the £4,000 seems about right. Given that a touring pitch is about £30 on such sites, averaged over the year, then you'd need to spend at least 133 nights in the van in a year to be getting a cheaper stay than tourers.   

I've got nothing to do on this hot afternoon

but to settle down and write you a line.

Hi Jerseygirl,

Welcome to caravan and Motorhome Talk.