Dometic 10.5 fridge

Trevor53

Dometic seem to have produced a fridge with major problems. The freezer compartment doesn’t keep items frozen towards the door. The interior is unusable except as a bottle store without an additional shelf that is not available, and the controls are so sensitive they are changed by brushing with a tea towel so people have resorted to taping them

over. Dometic hides behind the caravan manufacturers - Coachman & Baileys it seems, who hide behind the dealers we have to deal with. My understanding of the legal position is that our resort is to the dealers who sold the vehicle but I’m deeply unhappy about a £25k+ van being sold with a fridge not fit for purpose. Any ideas about how to proceed? How many others with the same problems? Can we work together to get to Dometic and get some action?

You are right about the legal position, your contract is with the dealer who sold you the van.

Being a Dometic engineer I can say that they do not hide behind anyone and your assertion is totally wrong.

As far as items at the front of the freezer , that indicates that there is too much stuff in there.

Bailey Prima now list the missing shelves:

https://www.primaleisure.com/product/1045324/dometic-rms105xs-fridge-lower-wire-shelf

https://www.primaleisure.com/product/1045323/dometic-rms105xs-fridge-door-shelf

https://www.primaleisure.com/product/1045332/dometic-rms105xs-vegetable-box-shelf

Edited by Brecon

8 hours ago, Brecon said:

Being a Dometic engineer

Can I ask where a 12 volt cooling fan should be placed on the Dometic RMS 8551 please?

CB you're obviously an optimist.

Anticipating it's going to be hot enough to need a fan on your fridge;)

I've got nothing to do on this hot afternoon

but to settle down and write you a line.

7 minutes ago, Steamdrivenandy said:

CB you're obviously an optimist.

Anticipating it's going to be hot enough to need a fan on your fridge;)