Baffled - Lunar LX200 & Trio awning!

Hi folks,

As a total novice caravanner I have done my best to find the answer to this question before posting here.  Hopefully someone can help!

I have bought a secondhand size 13 Trio family awning - it’s a full A awning - for my 1999 Lunar LX2000 524.  However it doesn’t fit properly. Both side doors are way too low (the doors closest to the caravan).

According to the manual the awning size required is 965cm (this would be a size 13). I have also measured it and from the ground on one side to the ground on the other it’s 972cm.  The awning rail alone is 894cm if that makes any difference.

What am I doing wrong?!  In theory the size 13 should fit but it definitely doesn’t!

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks so much,

Jenny

The canvas part of your awning should be a few inches above ground level all the way around with the plastic mud wall making up the rest. If this is correct then the awning is the correct size and you have low doors by design. 
The caravan being not being completely level makes a huge difference but as you say both doors are equally low that is unlikely to be an issue.

Thank you!  I have attached a couple of pictures here - the doors are definitely not supposed to be so low as you’ll see.  It’s as though the length on the rail isn’t as long as the fabric?

I’m not sure what size I should get to rectify it?!

Thanks again 😊

0436DA98-DE21-41A9-B608-7C081EFB8450.jpeg

Well, a size 13 is 950cm to 975cm  which is correct for your van and your measurements, so it would suggest that it is not a size 13 awning! From your picture it is clearly far too large, at a guess I would think that is a size 14 or even a 15. 
Is the size marked on the awning or was this what you were told by the seller?

There is a tag on the inside that says ‘975’ and the seller told me it was a size 13.

Honestly, I’m relieved I am not just losing my mind!