Ultra store fail. Gas & electric

Hi all. 

Forgive me if this question has been asked before but I can't find an answer with exactly the problem I have. 

Only been caravaning a year,well when not in lockdown anyway! 

1st time used van hot water fine on electric. 

2nd time electric failed fine on gas. 

3rd time total fail. 

I can't rule out having had the electric heater on when there was no water in it (total newbie so was probably panicking when we first went out). So that could explain the electric fail. When I got home after the 2nd trip I found that if I even switched on the electric at the switch it tripped my house every time instantly. 

When attempting to light the gas heating now I get the red led in the dial after 5ish seconds. I can hear a click as it attempts to light and another when it fails. 

Now, I can understand my heater element burning out but right before the gas fail?? 

Is there something common to both methods of heating that could have failed and explain it all or is it just sheer bad luck??  I've read that there is a PCB on the heater but that it only controls the gas heating but I would have thought that an electric heater needs a control unit of some sort. Guess that's why I'm asking here. I'm lost....... 

Thanks in advance. 

Gaz. 

How old is the caravan and when was it last gas serviced? The water gas burner may need a service, more especially if the caravan has not been serviced for a while.

Graham

Unless otherwise stated all posts are my personal opinion 

:welcome:

When using gas to heat your water you must first remove the cowl fitted to the outside wall. 

You say that it worked fine on gas one time but not now.

Is the gas turned on everywhere?

Do you have gas in your bottle and is it Propane as this works better in cold conditions?

The gas will take a few minuets to come through before it ignites.

You may be better off pulling the fuse to the electric side of the heater so as not to trip your house electrics.