Gas cylinders and electrical unit

Both should be acceptably safe when separate and putting them close together would not significantly increase the risk.

Whatever you do there is always some element of risk, but I would put this as no greater than an isolated gas cylinder being hit by lightening!

I worked in the chemical industry and did a lot of work on area classification which means safe distances from flammable liquids/gases to electrical equipment and other ignition sources. Around a flammable liquid/gas cylinder with connections that are not permanent (such as soldered joints) there would be a distance of possibly a metre or so which would be in a zone 2 depending on the ventilation and frequency of opening the connections and how reliable they are. Any electrical equipment in that area would need to be suitable for a zone 2 so not your normal house type electrical equipment. So if your cylinder was in an industrial environment governed by health and safety laws you would not be allowed to have your lpg cylinder next to normal electrical equipment. If possible I would not site your outside lpg cylinder next to your electric box but put it at least 1 metre away. Also make sure the box is kept closed and do not restrict ventilation around the cylinder and its connections.

2 minutes ago, Paul1957 said: