Hi. I’m new to this game. Just got a new Adria Tyne a few weeks ago. Just back from second weekend away.

before we left the site yesterday I noticed that the dc power indicator was at zero and the water pump had switched off. I was still connected to the site power.  Everything had been working fine up until then. Today I have connected the van to my electric at home but the indicator still shows zero. I’m assuming the leisure battery isn’t charging or maybe there is a different issue. Any suggestions as to what I can do?

Thanks.

There are several possibilities, but for a new van it is better to get the dealer to sort it out unless you can get some clues from the handbook.

I am assuming that the mains equipment works and that you have any master switch turned on! 

Dealer is closed today. Master switch is on.  Can’t see any info about a charger on/off switch though I’m finding it hard to understand the manual and knowing what specific info applies to my model. I’m sure it’s a simple issue to sort. 

First question is are the internal 13 amp sockets live? 

Assuming it’s a brand new caravan ..........

Second question.

Is there a leisure battery fitted to your caravan? Most DONT come with one as standard. 

Edited by Mr Plodd

Experience is an awful teacher who ends up sending you simply horrifying bills

Yes the sockets are live and the lights are working. Yes we have a leisure battery fitted. It’s a new van. 

So clearly there is 240v getting to the caravan, which is a good start.

Sorry about the battery question but as I said before they don’t come as a standard fitment on a new caravan, they are an extra. Have you actually checked there is a battery fitted (and its connected)? 

The reason I ask is because even if your battery is discharged I would expect to see some voltage showing at the meter, if it is showing zero it points to no battery or no connection at all. Does anything work (lights etc) if the EHU is not connected?