Getting TV when arriving on site..

I know I'm missing something very simple here, but could anyone kindly Talk me through getting the TV set up when you arrive on site? I went to a site last week, auto-tuned the TV in and the reception was unwatchable. I assume it is something to do with the Vision Plus aerial on top of the van, which you seem to operate using the little pole inside the van. I swiggled this around various places, retuned the TV but couldn't get the TV reception to get any better. Having Googled it, I downloaded some apps that purport to help 'find signal'? Namely 'UK aerial alignment' and 'SatFinder Lite' but I've no idea how these are supposed to help me tbh, or what I'm supposed to do with the aerial.

I'm sure I'm overcomplicating this somewhere, but it would help our sanity massively if the kids had TV to watch on our next trip....

I have been caravanning for two years, and I still find it a massive hassle.

I have the same aerial as you, but I'm bored of messing with it. You can get 35 odd channels sometimes, and they look fine, but if somebody walks past the TV to the kitchen, it all goes.

The TV takes a few minutes to autotune, so you can be farting about with it for hours before you get it half decent.

I have now given up and we stream Netflix / Amazon Video / Disney+ and use a blu-ray player.

• I agree completely 1

2016 Audi Q7 3. 0 - Towing a 2012 Sterling Elite Emerald

Persistent Love2Stay user

6 minutes ago, Hort2074 said:

I have been caravanning for two years, and I still find it a massive hassle.

I have the same aerial as you, but I'm bored of messing with it. You can get 35 odd channels sometimes, and they look fine, but if somebody walks past the TV to the kitchen, it all goes.

The TV takes a few minutes to autotune, so you can be farting about with it for hours before you get it half decent.

I have now given up and we stream Netflix / Amazon Video / Disney+ and use a blu-ray player.