Hello, I am not a newbie to caravanning, well over 30 odd years service ! I have always washed my caravan with usually just a splash of washing up liquid in the water. Hosed it off and used 'Silky' cleaner afterwards to give a shine. Occasionally, I have used a black streak cleaner for under the side windows.  Never had any problems.

Recently, (end of last season) started using Fenwicks Caravan Cleaner. I have used this before in the past without problems. Also I used 7 Shot Black Streak Remover ( which also is used for Algae removal. )  Since using this combination my whole caravan has become 'patchy' dull areas and some patches where there is a shine but less so overall. I have washed the van all over  and used silky cleaner. I have even used a car electric buffer to apply the Silky without any improvement.

Anyone got any suggestions to the cause and a remedy.

regards

Ray

P1080752.JPG

P1080747.JPG

Edited by makemray

I'm certainly no expert on this but at looks as though there isn't much paint left in places. I know the paint thickness is incredibly little on caravans. Has the cleaning been overdone?

Ern

You shouldn't use washing up liquid on painted surfaces it takes the shine off the paint. It's like putting salt in the water then cleaning with it.

• Like 1

:goodpost:Agreed you should never use washing up liquid on your caravan - it's way too aggressive. Try contacting Tourershine to see what might be done to remedy the damage.

• Like 2

Life is not a rehearsal . . .:)

Porsche Cayenne S Diesel & Knaus StarClass 695. Previously Audi S4 Avant & Elddis Super Sirocco

Sounds as if you need to use a polish rather than just cleaners. Fenwicks probably recommend their Bobby Dazzler polish which is put into the rinse water.

Edited by Paul1957

Washing up liquid has salt in it acts like an abrasive- I knew a chap with a lovely vw who kept using it- ruined the whole car.