logiclee

Petrol and diesel sales to be banned by 2032?

A Government advisory body is calling for the Petrol and Diesel ban to be bought forward to 2032.

Also calling for VED and BIK tax to be made more expensive for current internal combustion engined vehicles to move people into PHEV and BEV.

https://www.autoexpress.co.uk/news/108960/bring-uk-petrol-and-diesel-car-ban-forward-2032-and-include-motorcycles-say-government?_mout=1&utm_campaign=autoexpress_newsletter&utm_medium=email&utm_source=newsletter&fbclid=IwAR3rcS7ImdfSuSMvv7uw-JCDdb_5Ux76bFadK9n-C6fFEH2gpjLd8LNDUMM

To be honest the lockdown and increasing costs of running a big towcar have me thinking whether to buy a static or holiday home.  I've been touring since 1987 and it's getting more and more expensive and more and more difficult to just get up and go. 

Our current van is fine for a few more years but I can't see me buying another.

• Like 2

We're in the same mind.  We've had our current caravan just over 5 years, and made the decision not to buy a replacement.

Similarly, the only reason we have a big car is for towing the caravan.  We'll keep the existing car for now.

• Like 1

If I am still here. I think by then if I want to continue this pass time, I will have a Hydrogen propelled Campervan or Tug. Electric not going to work. Today the UK has not got the infrastructure to support electric, the Nation grid just copes with major peaks in demand. Something has to improve, if electric is the way!

• Thanks 1
  • I agree completely 1

The problems of getting the infrastructure up and running to support these vehicles by then may may this like the smart meter farce. Those in the industry who deal with the problem have said it will be difficult or impossible and anyway it will be a ban on the sale of new cars so the old ones will still work.

Given the work being done on this type of vehicle I think they will have cars that will do the job by then, but the price might be the problem.

• Like 1