Awning rails anyone done there own

Hi all newbie here,

I'm looking to get the awning rails redone on my caravan has anyone done the there selves rather than in a workshop. Im Quite competent with the old tools, fixing things and diy. Mechanical and electrical engineer by trade. Anything tips on doing them and resources for new stainless screws I've found the tape on line I will need and have a source for the strip insert. Just wondering if it's hard to do?

Obviously all old sealant needs cleaning off white spirit then moths to clean that off before revealing. Any tips on removal etc.

Your help would be appreciated 

Many thanks

Yes, I removed and resealed them on a 1996 Coachman Mirage 480/4 back in 2001 and my parents ABI Dalesman two years ago.  What a horrible job......

It's straightforward, remove all screws and carefully lever it away from the old sealant.  However, the rail (usually in two halves) needs to be handled carefully to prevent it bending and then scrupulously cleaned, I used petrol but white spirit and the like also works.  Before refitting I wiped it over with thinners to remove any oil traces.