Sign in to follow this  
Dazzais123

Do I need a stabiliser

Hi

I’m new to caravanning having purchased a Bailey from the 80’s a few weeks ago and in need of some advice regarding tow bar choice for my 2016 Honda CRV please. I have already decided on a detachable option with dedicated 13 pin electrics as the car has an inbuilt auto stability gizmo which I don’t want to by pass with the universal option. My issue now is deciding between a flange or a swan neck tow bar and it seems this depends whether I need a stabiliser. I’ve done some research and I’m as confused as ever. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Posted (edited)

Depends and what type of hitch is on your caravan.   Can you show us a picture of it.   Your caravan may need the 12S and 12N plugs changed if you're going for a 13 pin socket.

Edited by Jaydug

providing everything  is right with regards to loading , tyres, car / caravan ratio etc. the answer is no , but it does add extra insurance if the van does go into a wobble / snake.

Hitch stabilisers are now standard on most caravans and easy to retro-fit but the exact model will depend on the caravan, Alko AKS are the most popular but Winterhoff are also used.  A photograph of the bolt configuration and spacing of the current hitch will allow you to purchase the correct type. The last one I retro fitted to a caravan came with various shims to cater for different diameters of drawbar tubes.

Regarding tow bars I prefer swan neck types as to me they look neater but if you’re choosing detachable it doesn’t really matter.

You don't "need" a stabiliser any more than you needed ABS on your car (before they became compulsory on new cars), but they can save you an awful lot of inconvenience if things go wrong!

As to what kind of towbar, there are some combinations of ball and stabiliser that are more difficult to arrange than others.