swirly182

Over 85% and a Petrol!

I am still new to towing having only bought the caravan last October but thought I would share my experience so far with an outfit that's more than 85%. I did plenty of research before committing so this may also help others in a similar situation. 

I have a 2018 Skoda Octavia vRS Estate. It's a manual 245 petrol version and for me it's the perfect family car. Kerb weight is 1462kg / gross 1976kg.

Caravan is a 2016 Adria Altea at 1420kg MTPLM. This is a 6 berth entry level family caravan. Combined the weight is below 3500kg so I can tow with my license obtained in 2003.

So far, I've towed it five times all covering motorway miles and in mixed weather conditions including wind! I was nervous towing it back after the purchase. However now, and acknowledging I still have limited experience, I have no problem with it. Obviously I know it's there, but it feels stable and continuous monitoring of cars and vans overtaking I can anticipate any movement of the caravan. Clearly acceleration and maintaining speed uphill is not a problem with ~245bhp and 273lb/ft. Fuel economy is around 23mpg at 60mph. Has been down at 17mpg thanks to windy conditions. Price I have to pay for towing with a petrol. 

The point is, I could have replaced the Octavia with a larger, heavier estate which probably would provide some more stability. But would also be less efficient, or worse - could have been a diesel! Without the caravan I: repeatedly achieve 40mpg+ during normal driving, enjoy a smooth, quiet (more socially acceptable 😁) engine, don't have the trouble of parking a larger estate car and can have a good blast down a country road when I feel like it. 

Hopefully helps others looking at lighter and slightly less-typical tow cars. 

• Like 3

Exactly what I would have expected!

• I do not understand 2

45 minutes ago, Stevan said:

Exactly what I would have expected!