Sign in to follow this  
Johnaldo

Automatic Gearbox

I’ve been driving for over 50 years, but that’s always been in a vehicle with a manual gearbox.

However, my new (to me) XC60 is automatic, and I’m trying to find the answer to this question … what is Neutral used for ?

BC510D4F-7DD2-48DF-B90E-C435A26FE874.thumb.jpeg.caed591827f67b0f1a914e848857e2f1.jpeg

I’ve looked in the manual and done some googling … but all I can find is that ‘P’ locks the gearbox when parked and ‘N’ doesn’t.

So, when (if ever) do I select ‘N’ ?

TIA, John.

I have never used it but I suppose if you needed to push the car, it would be useful

BTW "R" is not for Race!  :D

Do you want to go straight from Reverse into Drive?  I sometimes use neutral if we are going to be stationary for awhile but need the air con running.  Always use your handbrake in addition to selecting park when parking the vehicle.

Just now, SamD said:

I have never used it but I suppose if you needed to push the car, it would be useful

Vehicle being towed?

• Like 1
  • I agree completely 1

When stopped at traffic lights or queuing traffic I always pop it in neutral and apply the handbrake. Sitting with your clog on the brakes especially if you’ve just slowed down from high speed is a recipe for brake disc warping. Also can’t see the point in leaving the transmission engaged for any length of time while stationary. 

• Like 4
  • I agree completely 2

I have never used N. If I want take my foot of the brake I used P.

Separates Reverse and Drive.   Also you need to be in neutral to select low ratio in my experience.  

I drop into neutral if I’m stationary for more than a few seconds. And, as above, need N to select low range, although that won’t apply on your car. 

If you you ever need to be winched onto a recovery truck or similar short unpowered movement, you’ll need to be in neutral. 

• I agree completely 1