Sign in to follow this  
BM Bairn

Power Issues

I am a relative newbie so be gentle please :blink:

The ‘van has been on mains power all week outside the house.

When we came home today I thought I’ll put the heating on as well as the fridge to test them.

All running off mains power. When I left it, it seems to be working ok.

Decided to go out there, after 3 or 4 hours, to see how it was going.

Not only was there no heating, there was an error showing (W 45 H) and the van was running off the leisure battery plus the electrical box under the seat had no lights showing.

Nothing had tripped and power in the garage where it was plugged into was still on.

I tried switching the mains off then back on but no luck.

I’m off to read the manuals but not sure where to start.

As it’s too far for the cable we got with the van on collection, it’s an extension lead from the garage then into the caravan mains power lead into the van. Could it be that that’s the issue? I bought a 35m cable today but won’t be able to try it until tomorrow now.

All help gratefully received.

Edited by BM Bairn

I'm assuming that you have a Sargent power unit under the offside seat. On the top is a black push button that switches the unit on. Give it a wizz, it may explain why you have no power?

• Like 1

Thanks guys.

Truma W45H code suggests loss of 240V power and also refers to overheating.

The Sargent unit was on when I left it, bit totally dead when I returned. Switches to it were all still at the ‘on’ position.

Some extension leads have a thermal cut-out - which can operate at high current if not fully unwound - if so there should be a reset button - guess how I found out!

• Like 1
  • I agree completely 1

3 hours ago, Black Grouse said:

Some extension leads have a thermal cut-out - which can operate at high current if not fully unwound - if so there should be a reset button - guess how I found out!