Sign in to follow this  
kelper

Roadside assistance

My Skoda assistance runs out in May.  To extend by two years would cost £155.  Can anyone living north of Inverness recommend an alternative?  I'm retired, so I don't need home start.

The AA do the Skoda service.  I don't need to watch their van on its way to me as this could be four hours of tedium!

I don't need cover to include the caravan although it would be a bonus.

I live along the coast to the East of Inverness and for the past few years have had the CMC Mayday cover so that the van was also covered when I was towing.  The second family car was also covered for about £120 for both.  However, I have no practical experience of how long they would take for a call out in this part of the world.  I suspect it would be how long to drive from Inverness but you can never tell.

I had a problem with my car after arriving at the Black Isle, phoned Mayday and explained the problem, back brake making grinding noises, and I suggested that if they sent a mechanic rather than a driver he could probably fix it.

He arrived within the hour, even though I had said there was no rush, and soon had the rear disc and brake drum off to find the handbrake mechanism loose in the drum, he put it all back together and it was fine.

Ian

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Mayday generally gets an excellent report and we have used it for many years. Have called them out twice, once near Oban, and the service was excellent.

As IanV9  says, if you break down and you think its repairable at the road side, specify a Mechanic not a Driver

I'm with Britannia via Nationwide bank, what I've found over the years is most of the companies send out a local garage agent and this same agent can be working for several companies so when you change you might well find they do not have to do a 4 hours journey like companies with their own people.

49 minutes ago, Les Medes said: