lazydaze

Towing Covers

Just purchased a nice new to us shiny caravan thinking of buying a towing cover but on reflection while travelling would the dirt and grime if raining go between the cover and front windows  and possibly cause scratching , if you have a cover did it meet your expectations and perform well , also I have seen cheap covers on E-Bay  etc but I would be buying a tailor made so possibly £ 200 pounds plus are these worth the investment , also do you use  it to keep the windows covered in the winter months if not using the van .your advice would be welcomed.:Thankyou:

Edited by lazydaze
spelling error

I have no experience with a tailor cover just one of the universal ones.  The most important thing is to make sure the van is clean before fitting and never put it on the floor as and dirt/grit will scratch the van, mainly the windows.

The one time I didn't use it was last year driving to Cornwall on the m5

Didn't use it because I got lazy and couldn't be bothered to clean the front before I set off. The window delaminated on the m5 and split the window. I couldn't help think of I had the cover on it wouldn't have happened. I spent hours on my holiday trying to glue the window back together. Now I always use the cover.

They can scratch the window though so make sure it is clean. I have put cling film over the window before the cover and this seems to eliminate scratching bit I have read not to do this bit I have had no negative effects.

I have a pro-tec custom fit towing cover, very easy to fit single handed with only one zip used to fit it, I did used to have a universal off eBay that was a right pain to fit with 2 people.

They are not something to leave on when storing the caravan, they won't offer any benefit and slight movement in the wind will scratch your van with dirt washed off the roof behind the cover