Bearing in mind I’m a newbie, I just trial fitted my Milenco Aero 3 towing mirrors.

I bought rubber ‘F Pads’ as suggested  for the BMW X3 mirrors which notch into the groove on the mirror trim.

Assembly etc was easy enough as you’d expect.

Just wanted some views (no mirror pun intended) on positioning etc.

I feel the brackets are a bit closer together than I’d have wanted. But due to the shape of the mirror at the outermost part and the narrow gap between the mirror glass and the casing, both brackets needed to be on the flatter top section.

Otherwise, everything seemed pretty secure.

13BC7C3E-1106-451F-8657-F068EFB3C4BA.jpeg

D38307AD-B71D-4FA7-99FE-0454C13D2E69.jpeg

2C26831D-661D-4798-93DB-F43265045EE0.jpeg

11655437-D017-4BAC-A361-8936BE666D13.jpeg

23D1FF08-30BA-499D-A663-18D4002D3ECA.jpeg

With my mirrors (Milenco) I have to fit them to the bottom of the mirror due to the curve on the top and no space between the glass and the mirror body.

This causes a problem!! They foul the door when the auto mirror folding is selected.

Note to myself; Turn the auto folding OFF!! Before locking the car.

• Like 1

Looks OK as long as you get a good view either side of the van. As you say the shape of the mirrors dictates fitting. I always push the inner pad as tight into the corner as I can get it in the hope that when they are re-fitted they line up as the previous trip.

• Like 1

Think the brackets are about right for the BMW mirrors because if you move them any nearer the edge of the mirrors you might crack the mirror surround (been there and done that!)

I did not know about the F pads so I have just ordered some - thanks for the info:)

• Like 1

I have Grand Aeros  on my Discovery 4 mirrors.

Originally I mounted them to the top of the mirrors but due to the angled profile and curvature of the bezel it was always difficult to get a strong clamp then one day after fitting them in wet weather one became loose and fell off on a busy road,