Grumpy2

Spare wheel conundrum

So, having completed our first outing and put the 'van away for a month or two my mind is turning to 'what could go wrong next time'. 

On the subject of the tow car (Audi Q5 2017), it doesn't have a spare wheel, just an inflator and gunge. The recommended spare is a space saver.

Now I'm in three minds, do nothing and stop worrying, I've only had two flat tyres in 40 years driving. Buy a space saver just in case (about £200), buy a spare set of identical wheels and use one as a spare when towing (£500 but I could sell three to reduce the outlay)

Thoughts welcome

Gary

ps remember I'm new to this.

Fourth option, be patient and try to buy a 2nd hand, mechanically matching, but not necessarily identical wheel to keep as a spare.

Watch out though, the spare wheel well may not take a full size wheel.

• Like 1
  • Confused 1

We have a space saver in the boot but I would prefer a full size spare. However I cant fit one in the well. There aren't many cars about with a space deep enough for a full size spare and that I suspect includes your Audi. I wrote to Volvo UK Technical a few years ago about towing with the space-saver on the car and was advised that subject to all normal parameters, and provided the 50mph limit is observed, I can tow the caravan with the space-saver on either car axle. I believe Volvo know what their cars can do so accept this.

• +1 1

The problem may arise that you are sticking the side of a road or motorway  with the caravan in tow after a blowout that the gunge can't be used and some breakdown companies won't come out unless you have a spare .

Dave

• +1 1

6 minutes ago, CommanderDave said:

....some breakdown companies won't come out unless you have a spare .

Do they come out if spare is a SpaceSaver?

I have an Audi A6 which has a spacesaver spare. 

The thing I'm dreading, if I need to use it, towing or not, is what do I do with the wheel with the flat tyre when I have changed it?