Sign in to follow this  
David350

Appropriate choice of security products for my first caravan?

Hi Everyone, I'm a carvan newbie (crossing over from the dark side of camping) and am presently drawing up a shopping list for accessories for (hopefully) my new caravan (Swift Astbury 580EB). I really want to get the basics right at this stage, so security is a priority for me. I am totally new to all this, and after spending a few hours reading up  on caravan security my thoughts are:

• Use a CASSOA Gold storage site.
  • Fit an AL-KO Premium hitchlock (seems VERY expensive compared to other hitchlocks!!!)
  • Fit an AL-KO Secure wheel lock (looks like this is the benchmark & insurers like this)
  • Milenco Security door lock
  • Subscription to Swift Command Tracker service (will insurers take this into account?)

Does this seem like a reasonable combination or am I going a bit OTT? Have I missed anything out? Presumably you only need the one wheel lock rather than two? Will a new Swift caravan come with the 'receiver' fitted as standard for the AL-KO secure wheel lock? Are the Milenco Security door locks a straightforward DIY installation or is best to get a mechanic to fit this? Am assuming that most insurers will be happy with CASSOA storage & AL-KO devices & might even give discounts? What happens when you pop into motorway services & leave caravan unattended in carpark - are you expected to fit the wheel lock to remain insured? 

Thanks in advance for any comments & advice & sorry for the number of questions.

David

Edited by David350
typo

Take out a good insurance policy - if the scumbags want a caravan they'll take it regardless of security products.

Personally - I store the caravan on our drive - I removed the Tracker as it flattened the leisure battery - I use a standard Alko hitchlock - standard Alko wheel lock - we don't leave the caravan unattended at Motorway Service Areas but do in chain pub or supermarket car parks.