Would I have done permanent damage?

Happy Daze

Being a newbie, I made the mistake yesterday trying to adjust the jockey wheel whilst unhitched yesterday by undoing the small lever. A mistake I hopefully won't make again. Anyway the jockey wheel suddenly collapsed down completely making the A frame and caravan front also collapse down fully. I managed to find someone to haul it back up with him directing me on how to get the jockey wheel back up. My question is would I have done any permanent damage to the caravan with this silly mistake?

It’s unlikely but..... 

with the legs down to the ground, get down on the ground and have a good look for any signs of damage. Also check no dirt of grit has got into the hitch head

Thanks all that's reassuring. Lost in the wilderness - I will check next time I'm out :)

This happened to me earlier this year when hitching up, although I had tightened the jockey wheel clamp on arrival and moved the van with the motor mover. But the breakaway cable was trapped under the hitch so was squashed underneath and although the steel looked OK I replaced it with a spare I carry.

Check yours is OK just in case

As a matter of interest, can't you tighten the clamp and then wind down the jockey wheel raising the front, lower the steadies, wind up jockey wheel and then lower the assembly again and wind it up again until caravan sort of level then lower steadies and finally adjust jockey to correct height?  We have a twin so does not affect us, but just wondering if this can be done with a single axle caravan.

• Like 1

50 minutes ago, Durbanite said: