TerenceB

New Lunar Quasar - Should I Buy

Hi All,

I'm new to caravan Talk (although I've looked through the forum before), so if my question has been asked before I apologise in advance. We currently have a Swift Challenger 524 and are looking to replace this soon. We like the 524 layout, so have looked at the Lunar Quasar 524 (mainly because we had a Lunar Stellar before and it was faultless in all the years we owned it.

My concerns relate to the fact that Lunar recently went into administration (July 19 I think) which we didn't know before we looked at the new Lunar Quasar 524, the deal we've been offered is very good. I'm now wondering if this is only because of the current financial situation.

The last Lunar we owned was a 2010 model, what is the quality like now, are there any major issues?

Thanks in Advance

Terry

Perhaps not what you want to hear TerenceB, sorry friend, but I would be very hesitant to take up the offer.

If it was underwritten by a second insurer guaranteeing all subsequent repairs and remedial works for the next ten years I might consider it, even then I would check out the validity of the underwriter's credentials.

• +1 1

Posted (edited)

Lunar is out of administration with a new owner but there's probably no warranty on the vans made before they went in to administration.

Edited by AndersG
  • +1 1

I would let the dust settle unless you can get a cast iron warranty from the dealer.

• +1 1

I would walk away, or even run as a warranty would have no meaning,

• +1 2

3 minutes ago, WispMan said:

I would walk away, or even run as a warranty would have no meaning,