Sign in to follow this  

Hi everyone,

We're a returning to caravaning  couple after a period of almost 30 years.

Had a small 4 berth when our daughter was young in the 80's/early 90's but left the scene when she decided she was too grown-up.

Now the grandchildren have came along (6 & 4 y/o). Did a trial run in a work mates caravan last month for a w/e and they loved it(asking since when the next trip is coming up).

After looking around took the plunge this week and purchased a 2007 Avondale Dart 510-5 which seemed to tick all our boxes,within our towing limit,fairly well equipped,and we like the double dinette were the kids can have their own space/bedroom.

Currently putting the finishing personalised touches to the Dart and hope to fit a couple of weekends in this year(head off for 10 days on a pre-booked holiday on 16/08).

Daughter & son-in-law,who are complete novices,will also make use of the caravan.

Forgive me in advance if I come on the forum asking for advice on what appears silly topics:rolleyes:.

:welcome:Keith Moore,  you seem to have everything organised , so good luck to you , this is a good forum, to ask questions, of any kind, 

happy days 

Welcome - hopefully some of us can answer any queries and questions that you've got.

We've been taking our grandkids away for the past 15 years - the older ones outgrew it at around age 16 but the younger ones (12 & 9) are still having great fun.

We've just come back from a fortnight down near Fareham with the younger ones and they had a super time. .

We managed a whole fortnight without a TV or mobile phones although the 12 year old was a bit miffed when we made her leave her phone at home. She didn't actually miss it although it was obvious that some kids their spent most of their time texting which I though was a bit sad as they missed out on what was going on around them.