Sign in to follow this  
Johnnyboy1

Electrical Sparks in Gas Locker

Hi all, assistance required if possible.  

We’re just about to take our 2017 Lunar Clubman SR in for its second service tomorrow, whilst cleaning every thing out yesterday a got a shock, yep, I mean a real shock albeit very small, at first I thought it might have been static but I took my electrical tester out this morning and put the live stabby little pin, I’m not an electrician, I put it on the metal plate I believe this is aluminium in the gas locker which sits at the rear of the gas bottles and I put the negative little stabby pin on the tester on the metal hinge on the locker door, at this point I got a continuous beep from my tester, as I said I’m not an electrician, but, Im not sure if this is correct, can any one tell me what it might signify, I’d like to know before it goes into the service shop so that I’m not blinded by science.  Any advice would be welcomed, thanks in advance.

johnnyboy

Most meters only beep when on resistance / continuity setting.   I would hope the big metal locker hinge assembly and the metal plate behind the gas on the clubman are earthed. Therefore a meter on continuity setting would be expected to beep. 

Were  you on mains hookup at the time? If so, then you may have faulty mains electrics, and these need checking by a professional. 

If you weren’t on mains, then it probably was static. 

Either way, inform the dealer and ask them to check whilst doing the service 

• I agree completely 1

54 minutes ago, Johnnyboy1 said: