Help!! What size air awning do I need

Hi, 

I’m new to caravinning. 

We just purchased an elddis affinity 540 caravan. I believe I need a size 15 or 1025. 

Ive seen that air awnings are smaller. What size do I have to purchase??  Does it have to be the size of the van or can it be bigger than a porch awning? 

Although you can get some full size air awnings most generally fit in the straight, horizontal, part of the awning rail along the roof of the van. If you measure the straight section that will tell you how big an awning you can fit. We have a Bailey pegasus 462 and use a Kampa air pro 390 grande. It's just under 4 meters long by 3 meters deep. It's a good sized awning. You can fit a smaller one of course to use as a porch. A not very good pic of ours.

John

982BC47F-E6A6-4765-AE16-F8B570E0607D.jpg

Hi,

Welcome to Caravan Talk Forums.

We have owned an Affinity 540 (2016) previously.

You don't state the year your Caravan so could not confirm. Google for the size or ask your dealer or check in the manual or someone will look it up.

For what its worth here's my view rather than a Salesman's ......

There are very basically, as you state, two styles of awning.

1. A full awning that fits the full side of your Caravan and you must have the correct size (length) as you've said. Great for the overall size to use, if you need it or want, very hard to keep warm on colder days and a bigger job to put up, peg out, take down + size and extra weight to handle, transport and store .   Better suited to longer stays, extended family with say inner tent sleep pods, or seasonal type use.