13 pin car, 7 pin caravan....?

Hi

My car has 13 pin electrics and my 2004 caravan has 7 pin.

Please suggest what I can do or buy to enable full functionality whilst towing?

As you can tell, I am new to caravanning!!

Just buy an adaptor and all should be well. Available at good caravan stores near you.

As above, I bought one of these as a starter to fit my layout then rewired the two caravan cables into a 13 pin plug when I had the time.

20190726_074023.thumb.png.269d772dd4ac2e6401fad4999d251129.png

Stay safe - Griff.  :ph34r:

Wheels at the front Green Oval Towing Machine

Wheels at the back Bessacarr 845

Used mine for 7 years till car changed...very good

.Geoff

Kia Sorento KX-1 CRDI 4WD towing an Elddis Affinity 530

1 hour ago, pattojones said:

Hi

My car has 13 pin electrics and my 2004 caravan has 7 pin.

Please suggest what I can do or buy to enable full functionality whilst towing?

As you can tell, I am new to caravanning!!

Where are you situated? I have an  adaptor  going spare, which you can have for a modest fee.  I am based in S W Lancashire near  Wigan if you wish to pick it up.

If you plan on keeping the caravan I would advise rewiring it to a 13 pin plug. When I changed towcars 10 years ago I wired the car to 13 pin and converted the caravan. It's an easy job and the 13 pin setup is so much more reliable than the 12N+S which invariably needed a jiggle to get it to work.

There are 13 pin plugs with dual cable entry to make it easier. Like this:

https://www.thetoolbox.uk.com/epages/es137744.sf/en_GB/?ObjectPath=/Shops/es137744/Products/MP124B

13 pin towing socket with 12N adaptor.jpg  13 pin towing socket with twin adaptor.jpg

My Volvo has 13 pin electrics so I use one of these for towing a unit with either single or twin electrics.

Gordon.

Fourwinds Hurricane 31D Motorhome. Also MGTF135 1. 8i Roadster (fun) & Volvo V70 3.2Ltr LPG (everyday car)