Sign in to follow this  
Patricia100

Fire Stick

I'm planning on buying a new TV for my caravan and it was recommended that I also purchase an Amazon Fire Stick (fully loaded) so I can also access my Netflix, BB iPlayer etc.  Do I need anything else apart from the fire stick itself (adapter etc?)   Afraid I'm not very technical so would appreciate some advice.

2 minutes ago, Patricia100 said:

I'm planning on buying a new TV for my caravan and it was recommended that I also purchase an Amazon Fire Stick (fully loaded) so I can also access my Netflix, BB iPlayer etc.  Do I need anything else apart from the fire stick itself (adapter etc?)   Afraid I'm not very technical so would appreciate some advice.

Good Internet connection.

No, you dont need an adaptor. It comes with one.

As said above you will need a good internet connection with a download speed of above 12 Mbps (Mega bytes per second) for Netflix although they state a much lower speed of 1 upwards. They should know but in practice that is what my home system works best on.

How are you going to connect up to the internet then?

Have a click on THIS

I hope it will clarify.

As David38 says, you'll need a good internet connection - at least 2mbit/s preferably 3-4 either via the site wifi or with a healthy data allowance on your phone or mifi unit.

Watching stuff can gobble up a lot of data so you really need an unlimited data package or be prepared to pay for about 1gb per hour.

Some sites take a dim view of video streaming so they may reduce their speed - I've noticed that most CMC sites seem to top out at around 1mbit/s and it's not easy to connect a Firestick direct to a site wifi network, your really need an access router 

If you are wanting to buy a new tv to use iplayer, netflix etc., I would buy a smart tv instead. This will do everything the firestick does better. You will need good internet though to use either a smart tv or a firestick.

• Like 1