Sign in to follow this  
Julie1961

What type of electrical goods needed?

Hello, I'm really new to caravaning and want to start buying some bits but I have no idea if I can use normal electrical goods or do I have to buy 12v  I'm after the basics like kettle  toaster and TV!  Any advise much appreciated,

Thanks

Julie

that all depends if you are going on sites that have electric hook ups, if you are then you will be able to use 240v items such as toaster, kettle, hoover, hair dryer, but if going off grid then you will need 12v things, unless you buy an inverter that turn 12v into 240v then you may also need a couple of batteries or a decent solar panel

phil

Posted (edited)
10 hours ago, Julie1961 said:

I have no idea if I can use normal electrical goods or do I have to buy 12v 

I have in my caravan a 2KW kettle, a 1KW toaster, a 750/1500 Watt fan heater, a 700Watt microwave oven, a small electric oven with two hot plates on top, the gas/electric fridge which nearly always works off electric and the gas/electric Trumawater heater, which always works on electric.   All together they would take around 28 amps.   Most caravan sites have either 6amps, 10amps, 16amps or maybe none at all.    So the first thing you need to know is the maximum number of amps of the site bollard.   When you know that, you know what you can switch on and what will trip the supply.     To find the amps, read the label attached to the unit.     Say it's 2000Watt.   Divide that by the voltage supply - usually 230 volts in the UK -  220 volts when you're abroad.

Edited by Jaydug
Correction

If you intend to stick to sites with electric hook up you can stick with ordinary mains equipment but...……

All sites have limited wattage available, described in terms of current. Most in the UK will give you 15A, but some only 10A or even as low as 4A!

15A equates to just short of 4KW, 10A is a generous 2KW and 4A is less than 1KW.

All modern flat screen TVs are fine, well below even 1KW.