Sign in to follow this  
Treesparrow

Weights and limits question

Posted (edited)

Hi all, newbie here to the forum.  I'm not new to towing, but this is the first car that has not been able to tow 3.5t. Wife is wanting a caravan and so I'm trying to find one with the right weight, layout and size.

The car is an Octavia scout and the V5 gives the following info

Mass in service 1559 kg

Max Permissible mass 2129 kg

Max towing wight 1800 kg

The V5 does not seem to specify a tow bar weight

Firstly am i correct in assuming that the max train weight is 3929 kgs?

Secondly what would be the heaviest MTPM for a caravan we could consider? I have been limiting my searches to 1500kg - too low too high? Advice / opinions welcome and appreciated

Ta

Rob

Edited by Treesparrow
spelling

You’ve got your calculations right (nose weight is 80kg from memory), only caution is that a wobbly box at 95% of Mass in service is definitely on the the edge for an experienced caravan puller even for somebody with towing experience - I’d probably be tempted to get it to about 90% so roughly 1400kg MTPLM.

Having towed in the past (before I knew better) at up to 120% I would be happy towing up to the mass in service, or up to the towing limit if it has a stabiliser and ATC, if insurance and licence permit.

13 minutes ago, Treesparrow said:

Hi all, newbie here to the forum.  I'm not new to towing, but this is the first car that has not been able to tow 3.5t. Wife is wanting a caravan and so I'm trying to find one with the right weight, layout and size.

Mass in service 1559 kg

Max towing wight 1800 kg

Secondly what would be the heaviest MTPM for a caravan we could consider? I have been limiting my searches to 1500kg - too low too high? Advice / opinions welcome and appreciated

Ta

Rob