Caravan Novice 101

Skoda Octavia Vrs Estate DSG towing

Hi,

Total caravan newbee here but 

I'm considering buying a caravan and trying to work out what size caravan my car can tow. Looking online I seem to be getting varying figures. 

I have the following details from plate in car which is a 2018 Skoda Octavia VRS estate DSG  

1978 kg is the maximum permissible gross weight 

3578 kg is the maximum permissible towed weight(towing vehicle and trailer) 

1 - 1040 kg  is the maximum permissible front axle load 

2 - 970 kg is the maximum permissible rear axle load 

Can someone please confirm what MTPLM I should be looking at when looking for caravan?

I would be a complete beginner and also not sure if I would need to sit test for B&E license as I know can currently only  tow up to 3500kg including car and trailer can someone also please clarify if this would be required. 

Thanks for your help 

Oh man !!  that's opened a can of worms........prepare to b confused !

Posted (edited)

OK, lets take this one step at a time.

Assuming your car is fully loaded, the maximum it is allowed to tow is 1600Kg (the difference between the first two figures).

Now let's look at your licence.  Without a towing test, you're limited to maximum plated weights of 3500Kg.  For you, this would be 1978Kg for the car, leaving a maximum of 1522Kg for the caravan.

However, it's recommended that people new to towing only tow a caravan that's 85% of the kerb weight of the car.  You don't quote that, but I believe it's around 1400Kg.    That would give a maximum caravan weight of around 1200Kg.

So a caravan with a MTPLM of around 1200Kg would be fine.  Possibly a little more once you've checked the kerbweight of the car (it's often on the V5).

Someone will be along to check/criticise my figures in a moment!

Edited by Tigger
  • Like 2

Posted (edited)

I’ll try and keep this simple but plenty of opportunity to confuse this will follow!