Does the route through the Gotthard tunnel involve towing the caravan up steep mountains?

Hi. Does anyone know if the route through the Gotthard tunnel involve towing the caravan up steep mountains? 

We are travelling from Black Forrest Germany to Basel then to Milan Italy and from there to Sicily. I have never done that route before and I am worried that I might get in trouble with towing the caravan if this route involves steep hills.  Any advice is very welcome.

Elaina

No, no steep hills, mostly dual carriageway all the way, except for the tunnel itself. Just be aware that the tunnel is very long, and VERY boring. It is two-way traffic, but does have lay-byes  at regular intervals where you can pull in for a break from the monotony. Some very spectacular scenery both sides make the journey worthwhile though.

Edited by 1164 County
Spelling mistakes

The Gotthard is about (IIRC) 17km long.  I went through on a motorbike in 2007.  The most amazing thing was that the temperature when we went in southbound was 11 C, at the peak (12km in I think) the temp was 38C.  It's spooky as a two way bore.

The weather was mild drizzle (nylon oversuit required) on the way up, and torrential rain on exit for the run down to Como.  Inside I had had a very good sauna....

Larry from Essex

2019 Bailey Unicorn Cabrera 2017 Kuga 2. 0 TDCi 150

1 hour ago, Elaina said:

Hi. Does anyone know if the route through the Gotthard tunnel involve towing the caravan up steep mountains