Sign in to follow this  
wolfgang1983

Just thought

Posted (edited)

Hi,

I had my first power cut today lucky was the mains power switch went first.

But I would like to know is it wise to keep a few fuses for the caravan it self?

It's my first year in caravan so learning a lot now as it's going to be my main home.

I also am working on new piping for my waste water to go in to my waste water tank.

IMG_20190417_164140.jpg

Edited by wolfgang1983

We carry a box of spare fuses!

• Like 1

Are you referring to 12v or 240v?

If the 240v supply is going to trip, it will usually be either the EHU bollard RCD that trips, or one of the MCB’s in the caravan. Either of those should just need resetting ( after investigating why it tripped in the first place).

As for 12v fuses, I would think many carry spares covering a range of currents, and I would certainly advise anyone to do so.

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, hp100425ev said:

Are you referring to 12v or 240v?

If the 240v supply is going to trip, it will usually be either the EHU bollard RCD that trips, or one of the MCB’s in the caravan. Either of those should just need resetting ( after investigating why it tripped in the first place).

As for 12v fuses, I would think many carry spares covering a range of currents, and I would certainly advise anyone to do so.

I think the reason why caravan power tripped on mains is because I used the 2000watt setting on heater then the 2000watt it's autumn where I am getting colder and the Jug to make a cup of tea. So not going to have them going at same time now,

Edited by wolfgang1983

That could well do it if you are using a domestic type kettle.

Need a low wattage kettle in the van - takes a little longer to boil but quicker overall when the EHU doesn’t trip!

Still worth having a few spare 12v fuses though, just in case.

Take care that the waste water doesn't back up into the shower tray ;)

56 minutes ago, Paul_B said:

Which is what happened on Friday to me!

geoff