Sign in to follow this  
logiesean64

Fleetwood 2000 550es

I've screwed up big time, the whole front of the caravan has dry rot 😭😩. Only noticed when we started to clean the caravan head to toe. Half way down the widow frames are shot also below all the front windows. This is border lining on a right off isn't it?. 

I'm totally gutted. 😭😢😩

I've contacted the previous owner and there not interested what's so ever, he said he never noticed it. And me being a total newb didn't either. Tried to return caravan, again he's not interested, said it was sold as seen in the (which it never). Looks like I'm going to be out of pocket unless I can figure out how to repair it. Luckily I have a few close friends who are joiners.. 

What's people's opinion on here. Is it repairable or not. I can swing a hammer and use a saw 😊

Sean 

IMG_20190420_112558-800x600.jpg

IMG_20190420_110329-800x600.jpg

IMG_20190420_110326-800x600.jpg

Have a go yourself, then at least once its fixed you know it will last.

There are several places that do wall board, your just going to have match as best as you can. There's not going to be much on show after the curtains and cushions are in place.

Take it all apart carefully and your joiner friends should be able to help, you may find more damp tough.

Its got to be better than losing the money you paid for it.

Good luck 

And take photo's.

First of all, it is not dry rot !!

It is water damage over a long period of time.

It is certainly a project if you decide to attempt it, but the first thing you need to do is find out where the water is getting in and sort that out.

What you can actually see is just the tip of the problem.

Once you start stripping out the damaged stuff you will find that the damage is much more, but not as apparent at the moment.