Sign in to follow this  
johnyelland1234

Strange Scenario, or not. Opinions wanted please - Year long living

Hey all,

I'm new to the forum and have come here to peruse the threads for random information that might help me. But, I might as well reach out and ask for advice from members.

I'm a bit of a loner. I'm a HGV driver by trade and run an e-commerce business on the side. The thought of buying a house and signing up to a 25 year mortgage, then paying constant council tax, heating and water bills and pretty much getting shafted by companies left right and centre, also that a house also cannot move, which means I'd be stuck in one place. To be honest, it makes me feel sick to my stomach. Is this what life has to be?

The UK seems to be extremely expensive too. My insurance for my motorycle goes up each year, and is at £550. My car is the same and that goes up by about £100 per year, despite getting more no claims (I have 10 years now).

Anyway, I've been looking at getting something that I can live in all year round, but still be able to travel. As a HGV driver, I work 4 days on and 4 days off. So if I want to go away to the EU, I can book 4 days off and basically get 12 days to travel and see places. I'm self employed anyway so can basically take as much time off as I want, I just won't get paid for it.

When I am working, I can park my motorhome/caravan/whatever at the RDC for those 4 days, and then go somewhere else for my 4 days off. The RDC has a shower room and stuff that I can use, but I'd probably just use my own. If I just need somewhere to park it locally, I can park outside my mothers house. She lives on an unadopted road in the country and there's a huge amount of space. I know the farmer and he'd be fine with me parking in on his road.

If travelling, I'd stay in laybys and the odd country road, but use camping parks every so often for a break if I stay in one place for a while.