Quoted Caravan Length

Hi, I am new to caravans, expecting to pick up my first one a Compass Casita 840 in July. When looking at making a site booking the dimensions of the caravan are needed. What I am doing sure about is what length to quote? The brochure says the caravan is 6.95m Exterior Body Length, however Shipping Length is 8.05m (assume this includes the A Frame?) . So for site booking purposes what is the length of my caravan. Apologies if this is a silly question but have looked and cannot find an answer on-line. Don’t want to turn up at a site and be told I have given incorrect figures. Thanks John 😀

It is the shipping length they need.

And welcome.

Ian

• Like 1

2018 Range Rover Sport AB,  2015 Buccaneer Cruiser.

Because the campsite will want to know whether the caravan will fit on to the pitch it's always the shipping length that they are interested in.

• Like 1

It's the shipping length - there's no point in them knowing the body length if there's still over a metre of A frame sticking out

2018 S-Max Titanium 2. 0 Tdci (177. 54bhp,180ps,132kw) Powershift + 2015 Unicorn III Cadz, Ventura Marlin porch awning

8 minutes ago, matelodave said:

It's the shipping length - there's no point in them knowing the body length if there's still over a metre of A frame sticking out

Thanks, when you know you know, when you don’t you don’t. 

2 minutes ago, connorefc said:

Thanks, when you know you know, when you don’t you don’t. 

No such thing as a daft question, only a fool who fails to ask it!

Andy

Oh, and welcome to the forum as well !!

• Like 1

Experience is an awful teacher who ends up sending you simply horrifying bills

And with a caravan of that size having a motor mover is pretty well essential.

Also make sure your towing vehicle is big enough for the job, and take care over your licence if you passed you test after 1/1/97.

2018 Passat B8 Estate 150GT TDi150 towing a 2018 Bailey Unicorn S4 Seville

39 minutes ago, Woodentop said: