Sign in to follow this  
Weekend Traveller

Best type of fasteners to use?

I have extended the right hand front bunk in my 2002 Bailey Pageant by removing the small cupboard which holds the stand alone table and a couple of slide out storage bins. I can stash the table in the bathroom wardrobe but I need to fit a couple of retainers to the rear wall of the caravan, to secure the table whilst  in transit.

I've never worked on caravans before apart from regular maintenance. I presume that the panels are some kind of laminated insulated panel, so some kind of load spreading fastener is required to secure things to the walls. Some items seem to be secured by screws others by rivets. any advice on what to use would be appreciated .

Posted (edited)

these were used in my old Pageant https://www. ebay. co. uk/itm/Load-Spreading-Alumin-Pop-Blind-Rivets-LSR-4-8-Diameter-Chose-length-colour-/171362389759.   As far as I can remember the wall board was fairly soft and didn't take screws well. The rivets are a one-time use so you can't easily remove stuff unless you drill the heads out. They spread out three lobes which makes them imposssible to remove so you'd have to try and poke them into the void if you wanted to remove the fixing.

These are good if you want to remove the screws at a later date - I've used them to hold radiators onto wooden panels in my mates narrow boat https://www. screwfix. com/p/rawlplug-hollow-wall-anchors-m5-x-37mm-20-pack/99201. Just put an extra nut on the front and screw it up to help collapse the lobes then remove it and you've got a nice neat and very secure threaded insert.

These will also do the  job as they pull the rear nut up and mushroom the rubber insert out behind the panel https://www. toolfastdirect. co. uk/acatalog/Rawlnuts. html

Edited by matelodave

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Weekend Traveller said: