Sign in to follow this  
Novocastrian

Island bed recommendation

For 2019, I'll be looking for an island bed configuration. I currently have a Bailey Pageant Bordeaux and like the fixed bed, but at a tad over 6 foot I find it just a bit cramped for sleeping and access is not always easy (middle of the night pees [not me, my partner!])

The island bed concept appeals as I like a larger bed and as I'm no expert on the models available, I hoped people could advise me what models to look for.   There's only two of us and I'm looking for second hand rather than new.

Check out the new Bailey Phoenix 640, rear island “fore and aft” bed (6’ 2”) so either occupant can get out of bed without climbing over the other.

If you want a lot more spec for the same money (ATC, solar panel, alarm uprated cooker etc) Chipping Sudbury caravans do an upspec called the Platinum

https://www. chippingsodburycaravans. co. uk/new-caravans/bailey-platinum-640

(I pick mine up in Feb):

If you want to spend another £6K have a look at the Bailey Cabrera, identical layout just a lot more money.

EDIT

Just spotted you wanted used so ignore the above, sorry!

Andy

Edited by Mr Plodd

We've had two 'vans with island bed configuration. Both Swift. Firstly a Sterling Eccles Quarts (fore and aft), now a Swift Elegance (transvers). I'm as tall as you and I've found the beds in both to be quite adequate. We only swapped the Eccles because, with the shower opposite the kitchen, it was a bit cramped amidships. With the Elegance, one of us  can walk past if the other is at the cooker, without the "breath in" pantomime. The compromise is the "night time shuffle" (for Mrs FG) past the end of the bed when it is extended.

Bailey Vigo (single axle 1500kg) or Cartagena (twin axle 1700kg) are worth a look. Very similar but the Cartahena is a bit more spacious. Both have been around for a while so plenty of secondhand units available.