Honestly Feedback For A Newby On Towing

newswifty2017

Hi guys,

looking for some feedback on the above caravan (or similar). Mainly the towing characteristics. I'm new to caravan towing, but the 590 is perfectly set up for our family. Now I know all about 85% rule and but I'm not able to change the car until end of next year. I'm currently driving a Pug 508 SW with 1795kg so coming in at 92% (van 1615kg) if the van was fully laden.

My idea is to load the roof box and car before the van therefore reducing weight ratio (circa 1500) to bring it within 1 -3% off ideal.

Now please be kind, I don't want people scaring us half witless but at the same time any insight would be helpful. I'm an experienced driver (advanced, HGV1, PSV bla bla bla)

We are picking up our new van beginning of July and in August heading down to Sussex from Scotland.

Other possible issues is nose weight, heard swifts are front heavy?

Many thanks and hope to here some feedback soon

The 85% thing was only ever a guideline for the inexperienced. With your other driving experience/qualifications you need not take it as a rigid rule.

Nosewight is important, too low has implications for stability, too high and you may be exceeding the car's limits.

+1 with Stevan.

Don't get silly and take it steady, If it feels unstable check your loading is low and on the axle for heavier stuff. A noseweight in line with the van advice and the car max should keep you on the safe side of ok. Don't worry, it's not hard to do. Allow space in corners and bends and you'll soon get the hang of it.

Just put as much in your car as possible. I used to be dead set on 85%, but now run at 97% as per the below:

BE209D8E-C9CC-49AF-BF99-B72E0780B05A_zps