Do Clutches Wear Out Faster When You Tow A Caravan?

It's a bit hilly where I live. The other day while driving up a steep road, I noticed that momentary rise in revs you get when the clutch is going.

I've only worn a clutch out once before. But that was 25 years ago when I used to thrash my Nissan Micra over the Pennines twice a day to work and back.

I've been towing with the Volvo XC60 for three years. I've no previous experience, as that's how long we've been caravanning.

Is clutch wear a common problem with towcars?

It's not a common problem IMO, But towing is harder on clutches, particularly reversing. I feel that the cost of my motor movers will be offset partly by less wear and tear in the clutch on my tug

• Like 4

Is clutch wear a common problem with towcars?

Let me put it this way. I've been towing caravans for 53 years during which time (according to my log book) I've totalled up 140000 towed miles. That's with 7 tow cars and I've always sold them on with the original clutch in them.

Treated with consideration they shouldn't burn out prematurely.

• Like 5

Citroen C5-X7 Tourer+Avondale Rialto 480/2
https://jondogoescaravanning.com

It will have an effect but I think the real wear happens the other 99% of the time your not towing.

If you have a clutch on the way out towing with the car certainly won't help the situation.

The XC60 has loads of torque - 400Nm probably, and a clutch designed to handle all of it. Towing or not, the clutch should last for many many miles. From what you've said (I assume it is a manual gearbox) your clutch is heading for an early grave.

Ern

only had one clutch go, on a company car a 1. 7TD Vectra in a massive traffic jam after multiple and I mean multiple hill starts on a hill. The car had 121k on the clock at the time so I was not surprised