Used Freelander Or Sportage ?

lazydaze

Hi, As discussed in my previous posts subject to some last minute details I should be the proud

owner of a Pegasus 534 with an unladen weight of approx 1247 Kgs, laden 1485 Kgs, I have a budget of £15000/16000 to buy the towing vehicle, this would buy me a 2012 HSE 2. 2 Freelander

or a 2012 KX3 2. 0 Sportage.

Both appeal but on paper the Freelander has more power plus a fair degree in reserve, the Sportage does the job much is near its limit, both these cars would be automatic. , the Kia would have 2years warranty remaining but this so complicated in the latter stages this has to be ignored.

I have no knowledge of either and would welcome your experiences .

Thank you.

Go for a test drive in both and the one that feels 'right' is the one you should buy - you have to live with it after all.

I would say that Freelanders didn't used to have a good reputation for reliability but that seems to have been sorted from what I am told. The only time I ever travelled in a Kia I nearly got seasick, but maybe that's me.

Have a look at the individual vehicle reviews at http://www. honestjohn. co. uk - he does the reviews in the Daily Telegraph (Saturday.)

My 2007 Freelander 2 towed my 1,500 kg Hobby with no bother and I've had no problems with the car since new (touch wood - it's going for a service tomorrow!).

Fuel consumption isn't great - about 30 solo and down to below 25 when towing. The ride is really good; I borrowed a Disco from a dealer when mine was in for service and that floated horribly compared to the Freelander.

I would never have guessed that you could have got a Freelander for the same price as a Sportage (of the same age). Is the FL2 much higher mileage?