How Easy Is It To Swap From 7N/s To 13 Pin?

Panter

When I bought the car I had it fitted with 7N & 7S sockets, because that's what the 'van had.

We now have a 'van with one of these new-fangled 13 pin thingy's, but because we also had an old trailer boat (with 7N) we just bought an adapter to use with the van

The adapter works well, but it is very bulky, and we've also sold the trailer boat so how "easy" would it be to convert the existing towbar to a 13 pin socket?

I'm no electrician, but reasonably happy working on 12v systems, making connections/soldering etc but wouldn't want to mess around with the cars wiring loom.

Obviously I can just buy a 13 pin socket and wire it in, but is that possible with the (existing) two separate cables?

Cheers,

Chris

Edited by Panter

Yes I've had it done.

You need the plate unless you drill out the hole in the existing one, and a rubber boot, not sure but since I did mine they might be a special boot for the job.

• Like 1

There is a 13 pin socket with two cable entries which makes life easy.

I got one off the bay and it took about thirty minutes to change.

Ian

• Like 2

2018 Range Rover Sport AB,  2022 Buccaneer Cruiser registered in 2023.

Our new car has a 13 pin socket but the van had 12N and 12S plugs.

I had the opposite to you in that I changed the the caravan end of the deal, removed the wires from the 7 pins and put them into the 13 pin.

I found the best method of making sure that the wiring went to the correct pins was to write down which colour wires went to which existing pin and noted the function for each pin, with some wiring diagrams although pin function is always the same, wiring colours differed depending upon year of caravan.

Don't forget though that pin 4 (from memory) on the 12S, pin 9 on the 13 pin will be permanently live at the car so be careful not to short it out, wasn't a problem for me as I was at the van end of things.

• Like 1