Hi Everyone Newbie Here

hi everyone

I am a complete novice needs loads of advice have been learning on the internet

what we want to do is buy our first caravan we have looked at a few in caravan show rooms

we are after a 4 or 5 berth

how much do we spend do we get a good one to start with or a cheapie

I think we would rather a decent clean caravan as we would be using it for local weekend away and longer holidays in the summer

when would be the best time to buy

do we join camping and caravan club or caravan club

do we buy private or dealer

need to know so much

I hear that there is a exhibition at the nec next month would that help us

really want to learn so much

be great to meet experienced caravan owners

Welcome to the forum

NEC Caravan show would be a good start (but keep a tight grip on your wallet !)

You should be able to find a caravan layout that suits your requirements.

If you are buying second hand I would recommend a dealer rather than private as you should then get after sales support.

I would also suggest a dealer which is fairly close to you so if you need to take the van to get things fixed its not too far to go.

Insist on a full damp report.

As to which club - people on the forum will recommend both and neither, why not join both for one year and try them out.

Volvo V70 D4 Estate automatic Swift Challenger SE 580

:welcome: We hope your experience in your new hobby is as good as ours is.

You will be governed by the weight your car can tow, as to what size caravan you can buy.

I personally think if you are buying used then the end of the season is the better time to buy, the only thing is if you do, you will be itching to get out there and enjoy it, and your choice of sites will be limited.

Again if you are buying used, if you know someone who caravans, take them along armed with a damp meter, as damp is I would say the costliest problem you would have, if it needs putting right.