Sign in to follow this  
bmwbrooks

Lorry Speed Increase

Speed limit for lorries to increase from 6 April 2015 to 60 mph on dual carriage and motorways

that should be fun trying to overtake one while towing

https://www. gov. uk/government/news/hgv-changes-to-give-fairer-deal-for-hauliers

It is of course already 60 on motorways for HGVs - this announcement is in addition to the single carriageway NSL increase from 40 to 50mph for HGVs.

that should be fun trying to overtake one while towing

You can't - they'll have the same speed limit !

• Like 2

https://www. gov. uk/government/news/hgv-changes-to-give-fairer-deal-for-hauliers

It is of course already 60 on motorways for HGVs - this announcement is in addition to the single carriageway NSL increase from 40 to 50mph for HGVs.

You can't - they'll have the same speed limit !

as a retired lorry driver i see their point of raising the limit as to towing i just keep out of there way and just plod on at 55 i am in no rush

• Like 2

Good news. I predominantly travel on rural roads on my commute, better to be behind one at 50 than 40mph.

• Like 2

Don't forget it won't apply in Scotland or Northern Ireland.

You have to remember LGV's are fitted with speed limiters set at 56mph.

John

You have to remember LGV's are fitted with speed limiters set at 56mph.

John

But they're legally allowed to exceed that currently on motorways, eg downhill - as most, but not all, limiters just control the throttle, but don't apply brakes to an overspeed.

But they're legally allowed to exceed that currently on motorways, eg downhill - as most, but not all, limiters just control the throttle, but don't apply brakes to an overspeed.

I see that many HGV's hold their speed back downhill anyway as I tend to do when towing.

It could be a good thing and maybe it'll stop people who tow (caravans etc) from passing lorries who are traveling at 56mph on downhill stretches.

Although I can't see it.