I'm New Please Help

Rileylogan

Hi I'm new to caravan I'm not sure what we want but were a family of four and a dog and have an audi a4 170bhp and 350nb 258lb-ft tourque could people kindly advise of caravans suitable and I'm not willing to buy a bigger car as this will be partners first car thanks in advance lee

You can use whattowcar. com for rough matches but please bear in mind that caravan matching it goes mostly by vehicle kirbweight and towing weight, not so much power.

Also when did you take your licenses? Can you legally drive a large caravan? Does your license have B+E entitlement?

Lots of usefull guides on this and other sites for choosing a van, I would make sure your first one is cheap and dry. :).

And finally welcome to the site :)

An eye for an eye only ends up making the whole world blind.

Mahatma Gandhi

Welcome :)

Second hand van, say 4k to start off with, nothing too large or unwieldy. It might put you off !

Go mooch around a few dealers, see what suits you.

Stay away from the NEC next week-it's full of shiny new vans and Salesmen :lol:

I've looked on internet I need lamenes terms I looked at my log book it says 1600kg braked and 750 unbraked I'm just not sure what sort of vans to look at

Up to 1600kg max tow capacity of the cars but you probably do not want to tow more than the kirbweight of the car and a rough guideline for beginners is to stay below 85% of the kerbweight as a recommendation.

Does your license give you both B+E though?

Mahatma Gandhi

Unfortunately not only been driving since 2006

Then you will only be able to drive a very small van anyway by law. .. Your cars max loaded weight, including the MTPLM of the caravan needs to be below 3500kg. ..

What is the gross weight of your car?

See ---> https://www. gov. uk/towing-with-car

Mahatma Gandhi