Towing Advice Needed

derekandsheena

Hi everyone,

This is my first time to caravanning and have been looking at different caravans to buy but am a little confused as to which caravan would be suitable as trying to work out the different weights has gone over my head so i am hoping some of you experienced people on here can guide me in the right direction.

I am looking to buy a second hand caravan 4 berth fixed bed single axle but just need to know what the maximum my car can pull as in terms of a caravan.

I have a Citroen Picasso 1. 6 Diesel 2009

Height 1637mm

Length 4276mm

Wheelbase 2760mm

Width 1751mm

Gross Vehicle Weight 1850kg

Max Loading Weight 550kg

Max Towing Weight-Braked 1300kg

Max Towing Weight-Unbraked 690kg

Minimum Kerb Weight 1300kg

All help is greatly appreciated

:)

Both Renault and Citroen don't deduct the driver/passenger from the payload,

if I remember correctly so your towing weight may be lower than at first glance.

Can someone confirm or deny this please.

Both Renault and Citroen don't deduct the driver/passenger from the payload,

if I remember correctly so your towing weight may be lower than at first glance.

Can someone confirm or deny this please.

That would only apply if the maximum allowable gross train weight is less than the sum of max. gross vehcile weight and the braked towing weight.

I see that the max. towing weight is 1300kg. You will look for 85% of that, which is 1105kg. The maximum weight - known as the MTPLM- of the caravan, and it's on the side somewhere, should not exceed that.

This is most certainly not a legal limit. However, it is a good guide for those new to towing. The maximum allowed weight for the car is 1300kg, which ís the legal limit. Beyond that, I'm afraid that you've got to change the car.