Jump to content


Photo

Buccaneer Clipper - Avtex Tv

Buccaneer Clipper Avtex TV

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Nick_Pam

Nick_Pam

    Three Star

  • Approved Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 153 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Warwickshire
  • Interests:Sailing, Scuba & Caravans
  • Towcar:2013 Range Rover Sport SDV6 Black Edition
  • Caravan:2013 Buccaneer Clipper

Posted 02 April 2013 - 07:40 PM

Hi esteemed forumites....

 

We have just ordered a Buccaneer Clipper and are contemplating asking the supplying dealer to replace the standard 16" Avtex TV with a larger one, but would still want it to fit on the bulkhead by the entry door, as we have a separate flat-screen TV from our previous 'van which will fit in the rear mounting bracket above the beds...

 

The question is, can we go up as large as 21.5"; will we have to go with the 18.5" or will neither of them fit??

 

Thanks in anticipation as always...

 

Nick


Edited by Nick_Pam, 02 April 2013 - 07:41 PM.


#2 Diavolo Rosso

Diavolo Rosso

    Nikon D600

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,386 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Co. Durham
  • Interests:Photography, caravans, books, history...
  • Towcar:Nissan Pathfinder Aventura
  • Caravan:Buccaneer Clipper

Posted 02 April 2013 - 08:02 PM

Hi Nick. We recently got a 2013 Clipper. At first, it was our intention to get an 18.5" or a 21.5" Avtex for the front, and put the 16" in the rear of the 'van. However whilst talking to an owner of a 2012 Clipper at the Elddis factory, he said that he'd fitted the 21.5" Avtex in the front, and it went in, but that there wasn't much scope to change the viewing angle, because of the proximity of the TV's edges to the gable.

So we were going for the 18.5", until we saw Tesco's Technika 19" for £72.00! So we decided to give that a try.

It fits great on the front, is big enough to view comfortably, easily angled, and works fine. The 16" then went onto the rear swing arm.

I used these brackets:

http://www.tesco.com...&skuId=204-8681

(although they were around £12 each when we got them). They allow the TV's to sit safely on the brackets, safe enough to leave on whilst towing if you want, but are easily lifted off for storage.

I have some pics of the installation I could send you if you wanted - if so, or if I can help you with any other questions, don't hesitate to pm me.

Regards,

Al.

#3 Nick_Pam

Nick_Pam

    Three Star

  • Approved Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 153 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Warwickshire
  • Interests:Sailing, Scuba & Caravans
  • Towcar:2013 Range Rover Sport SDV6 Black Edition
  • Caravan:2013 Buccaneer Clipper

Posted 03 April 2013 - 08:50 PM

Hi Al,

 

Really useful info thanks!

 

We have a 19" Kogan LED TV that we use on our current Barcelona, in addition to the standard 16" Avtex, so the question is whether we stick with what we have (the current Avtex will stay with the Barcelona but we will get a new one with the Clipper) and work out which way round to mount them when we take delivery, or ask the dealer to exchange the 16" for an 18.5" (pay the difference obviously!).

 

We would then probably put the Avtex at the front and the Kogan at the back.....depends whether the Kogan will go in the rear mounting of course.

 

Food for thought - thanks a lot

 

Nick



#4 Diavolo Rosso

Diavolo Rosso

    Nikon D600

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,386 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Co. Durham
  • Interests:Photography, caravans, books, history...
  • Towcar:Nissan Pathfinder Aventura
  • Caravan:Buccaneer Clipper

Posted 03 April 2013 - 10:14 PM

No trouble Nick. We've found having the two gives the option of two sets without needing to disconnect and reconnect, and one of us can watch something via satellite, the other something on digital (with headphones of course!) simultaneously. It also gives me an option when I'm avoiding the soaps! (Which I do a lot!)

The 19" looks well proportioned in the front position too.

Anyway, hope you enjoy your new Clipper when it arrives!

Regards,

Al.

#5 TheGreenRover

TheGreenRover

    New to the board

  • Approved Member
  • 2 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:North Yorkshire

Posted 14 May 2013 - 07:52 PM

Hi there,

 

this is unrelated to the TV size but thought you might be able to help. We have a 2012 Buccaneer Caravel. It has an outside TV socket along with a roof aerial.

When we plug into the outside TV socket how does the system know that is what we are using and not the roof aerial?

The booster has a number of different coax cables but it's not clear what they are for.

So far we haven't had any success using the external TV socket and then the 'local' socket in the front of the van next to the TV wall mount.



#6 crusader

crusader

    Four Star

  • Approved Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 593 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:doncaster
  • Interests:enjoying everyday

Posted 14 May 2013 - 08:48 PM

Hi there,

 

this is unrelated to the TV size but thought you might be able to help. We have a 2012 Buccaneer Caravel. It has an outside TV socket along with a roof aerial.

When we plug into the outside TV socket how does the system know that is what we are using and not the roof aerial?

The booster has a number of different coax cables but it's not clear what they are for.

So far we haven't had any success using the external TV socket and then the 'local' socket in the front of the van next to the TV wall mount.

the coax cable should be marked with black insulation tape  check the back of the socket and then the wire near the aerial box , our last van had none , one strip of tape then two bands of tape corresponding to the back of the sockets , jim



#7 TheGreenRover

TheGreenRover

    New to the board

  • Approved Member
  • 2 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:North Yorkshire

Posted 15 May 2013 - 12:38 PM

Thanks.

Unfortunately none of the cables are marked. We've tried different variations of the leads plugged in differently and nothing seems to work.



#8 crusader

crusader

    Four Star

  • Approved Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 593 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:doncaster
  • Interests:enjoying everyday

Posted 15 May 2013 - 01:23 PM

you can use a multimeter to check for continuity to determine what cable goes to where , then label them . is there four cables ? one should be from the airiel , one from the front tv point , one from the rear tv point, then one from the outside socket .....that is the one to swap with the short airiel lead   ie the front and back stay connected but the roof mounted airiel and the battery box input are the only ones that need swapping, harder to type than do :unsure: , jim 






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users