#1 andreap

andreap

New to the board

• Approved Member
  • 1 posts
  • Interests:Caravaning, travel, nature

Posted 27 October 2011 - 10:14 PM

Hello

Do you cover your van up for the winter period?

I am a newbie caravaner and after trawling the internet for advice, still cant decide if its good to cover or not. Reports of scratched windows, mould and other nasties have sent me in a spin. What experiences do you have please?

I have my van currently in storage and unfortunately, under a tree (no other choice at the moment).

If you do cover your van up, I would love to know how you do it. I cleaned the van a couple of days ago with a view to putting a brand new cover on it. Lo and behold, it started to rain of course. Dropping debris on the van again. I decided not to cover and wait for a more reliable day.

Many thanks

Andrea

#2 RobOwen

RobOwen

Three Star

• Approved Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Towcar:VW Passat Alltrack
  • Caravan:Swift Challenger Sport 586

Posted 27 October 2011 - 11:12 PM

Hi Andrea,

Welcome to the forum. Most of the questions asked have already appeared in some shape or another over time. I have only been browsing here since July/August time but do recall a similar question in this thread which may help you.

Edited by RobOwen, 27 October 2011 - 11:13 PM.

#3 RobJS

RobJS

Following his nose.

• Approved Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,163 posts
  • Interests:Travelling & Cycling
  • Towcar:VW Tiguan
  • Caravan:Bailey Olympus 530-4

Posted 28 October 2011 - 07:12 AM

I wouldn't cover my van having seen some after the winter period in storage! Not the best place to store a van (under a tree). If I was you I would probably invest in one of those covers just for the roof to help with leaves, sap etc falling on the van. I think that rivers way leisure sell them but not 100% sure

#4 BOAC

BOAC

BOAC

• CT Author
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,190 posts
  • Interests:Petal & Baggins
    Jeep & Pastiche
    Air Traffic Control