10 replies to this topic

#1 vectradam

vectradam

New to the board

• No longer a member
  • 7 posts

Posted 06 August 2009 - 07:49 PM

hi

we are considering caravanning after many years in a tent. we have the above car and very much like the above caravan. i am 6' , 2" and it seems swift may have a tiny bit more head room. we also like the end bunks for our 2 boys (9 and 12). thing is ive been on whattowcar and i need to reduce the caravan payload from their default 200kgs ( which gives 93%) to 100kg (86%) or 50kg (83%) to get anywhere near the suggested 85%. how practical is it to carry this small a load in the caravan? and how critical is it if you just crept over 85%. i have some trailer towing experience. any other views on this matter would be greatly appreciated

many thanks

#2 angus

angus

Four Star

• Approved Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 954 posts
  • Towcar:BMW F11 520D M-Sport Touring
  • Caravan:Elddis Avante 524 Lux

Posted 06 August 2009 - 08:08 PM

TBH, thinking you can get down to 50 kgs is dreamland, 100 kgs would be difficult, and if you get down to 150 you will have done well.

85% is a guideline and only that. An outfit driven by a moron at 50% is probably a greater risk than one at 100% sensibly driven.

The Mondeo appears to be popular with `vanners, and I personally wouldn`t have a problem driving an outfit at 93% that is well maintained and sensibly loaded.
Put the heavy stuff in the car, make sure the noseweight is correct, and drive right in your head and you should be OK.

You may well get contradictory advice, but there are so many variables - weight of towing vehicle, wheelbase, overhang, suspension type and stiffness, tyre dimensions, aerodynamics etc etc that affect towing that is ludicrous to suggest you are safe at 85% and a hazard at 86%.

Good luck.

#3 BrianI

BrianI

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,890 posts

Posted 06 August 2009 - 08:15 PM

Hi
There are a number of things you need to consider.